International Feature Film Competition Jury

      Aida Bégic

      She  was born in Sarajevo. She graduated in directing at the Sarajevo Academy of Performing Arts. Her graduation film “Prvo Smrtno Iskustvo” (First Death Experience) was presented at The Cinéfondation Official Selection of the Cannes Film Festival. Her debut feature “Snijeg” (Snow) was premiered at Cannes 2008, Semaine de la Critique where it won the Grand Prix and 30 further festival awards from around the world. In 2009 she founded an independent production company Film House. Her 2nd feature film “Djeca” (Children Of Sarajevo) premiered in Un Certain Regard, Official Selection of the Cannes Film Festival 2012 where it won Special Distinction of the Jury. Aida Begić teaches Directing at The Academy of Performing Arts Sarajevo and she is member of AMPAS, EFA, SACD and UFRBiH.

      Laszlo Rajk

      He is architect, production designer and  human rights activist. His artistic portfolio is full with striking and unconventional built architectural projects and more than 100 stage design and film sets as production designer or art director. He was the production designer of the Oscar, Golden Globe and Cannes Grand Prix winner “Son of Saul” and Béla Tarr's last two movies. He worked as partner of Costa Gavras, John Irwin, Miklós Jancsó, Tony Gatlif, Fatih Akin and Mahmut Coskun, he was one of the art directors of Ridley Scott's movie, The Martian. As an artist rooted into the avantgarde, he often works for independent movies and projects of early-stage artists.

      As an academic person, Rajk is a university professor, giving masterclasses and lectures worldwide at famous universities and art schools, including University of Theatre and Film Arts in Budapest, Princetown University/USA, Concordia University/Canada, Middlesex University/London UK, Film Factory/Sarajevo Bosnia.

      Daphné Patakia

      She grew up in Belgium and graduated from the Greek National Theatre and has since appeared in major stage productions throughout Europe. She is known for Yorgos Zois', “Interruption” that premiered in the Orizzonti sidebar of the 2015 Venice Film Festival. She is starring in Constantine Giannaris' film Spring Awakening for which she was selected as one of the European Shooting Stars 2016 at the Berlin International Film Festival. She made her debut in France with the film “Djam” by Tony Gatlif that premiered at Cannes' Official Selection. 

      Zrinko Ogresta

      He is Croatian screenwriter and director, professor of film directing at the Academy of Dramatic Arts in Zagreb and a member of the European Film Academy in Berlin. He graduated from The Academy of Dramatic Arts in Zagreb, Department for Film and TV Direction, January 1982. Acclaimed for the strong visual style, well-articulated mise-en-scène and innovative storytelling, his films focus on the anxieties that lurk behind the well cultivated bourgeois facade of the characters, using their emotional and psychological fractures to bring to light the complexes that haunt the society in general, while subtly analyzing social and political forces behind it. Ogresta's films were screened and awarded at renowned international and local festivals like Venice, Berlin, Karlovy Vary, London.

      Signe Zeilich-Jensen

      She works at the Netherlands Film Fund as film commissioner for children’s and family films. She started her career as a buyer and commissioning editor for Dutch television and then became the festival programmer and head of the international programme at the children’s film and media festival Cinekid in Amsterdam. During five years she was the director of the Holland Film Meeting, a yearly co-production platform for European art house film at the Netherlands Film Festival. Signe previous working experience also includes advisory work for several funds and organisations like the Dutch Cultural Broadcasting Fund, the Netherland’s Film Fund and the Flanders Audiovisual Fund.